Fight Song

We all have one song that gets us pumped. My new anthem is Rachel Platten’s Fight Song. Seriously, there are days when in-between getting laundry done, making meals, making snacks, breaking up the 101 scuffles that happen on any given day, making more meals and more snacks, and basically just trying to hold it all together, that nothing can keep me going like the perfect song.

Imagine that you have two different volume dials in your brain. Just turn the chaos down to zero, and then crank your anthem to eleven! Sometimes I even picture myself in my own music video for said anthem . . . call me crazy . . .

Yes, sometimes life can be overwhelming, but sometimes I agree with the mom I overheard at the grocery store when she said to her four-year-old, “Let’s just do what we have to do to get through this.” I will add, “Even if it means starring in your own “in your head” music video.”

So what’s your fight song? Maybe we can start a playlist?

This week’s review is Prisoner 88. It is a “loosely based on a true story” book about a ten-year-old boy who is found guilty of murder in 1885 and sent to an adult prison. He might not have had an anthem, but he was a fighter.

I was a bit surprised at how much I liked this book. The main character, Jake Oliver, has a, never-give-up, matter-of-fact spirit that is both endearing, frustrating, and inspiring, I think it’s the perfect read for kids and adults alike.

The only downside to this book is that it’s written in a bit of an accent, that takes some time to get into. This type of writing can be difficult for younger readers, but I think that the characters and the situations are drawn so clearly that the accent becomes secondary. 

There were just so many levels to this book, and each one helped to build it into something that left me feeling hopeful and encouraged.

http://leahpileggi.com/books/prisoner_88

2 thoughts on “Fight Song

Leave a Reply

