I long to be “Just a stay at home mom”

I long to be”Just a Stay at Home Mom”, but I don’t think that hypothetical unicorn exists. I long for her, though.

You see, we homemakers are a tough bunch. We are chauffeurs, short-order chefs, maids, teachers, lawn-care technicians. We are office assistants, schedulers, organizers. we get you where you need to be, fed, clothed, and with the appropriate sporting gear . . . most of the time.

Now, as if that wasn’t enough, we must also be, clever, crafty, funny. We must blog, start our own businesses, and spread the joy of glitter to the world in unique videos showing everyone just how awesome we are.

I’d like to blame social media, or feminism, or men in general, but the fact is that these over-expectations, come from ourselves. Because in our heads being “just a stay at home mom” isn’t enough. But I want to tell you something, “It is.” And you know what else is enough? Being a working mom, being a work-from-home mom, being any kind of mom, it’s enough.

I am right there in the middle of this mix, perpetuating every single over-expectation. I AM a homemaker, I own my own publishing house (www.handersenpublishing.com . . . check it out), obviously I blog, and I make super-cute, crafty videos involving something called Thumb Theatre. But I’m also “just a mom” trying my best to do this amazing job that I’ve been blessed with to the best of my ability.

I am trying to be present for my kids, for my husband, for my family. And it’s enough, I am enough . . . you are enough.

This post is directed at moms, but in reality, it probably resonates to everyone in general. Should you strive to be the best you that you can be? Yes, a million times, YES! Keep exploring and learning and growing. Just don’t let other people tell you what that “best you” looks like.

 

No book review for this post, it’s enough . . . just as it is.

 

Leave a Reply

